Due to its beautiful location, Zebegény has been a popular holiday destination since the beginning of the century. Many artists live and create here. The most characteristic building of the settlement is the Art Nouveau Roman Catholic Church. The road leading to Calvary Chapel is accompanied by nine statuary paintings painted on metal plates. The painter István Szőnyi, whose former residence is now a Memorial Museum, rests in the nearby cemetery. On the banks of the Danube, you can enjoy summer relaxation on a wonderful renovated free beach.
István Szőnyi Memorial Museum
ISTVÁN SZŐNYI (1894-1960) was a prominent figure in Twentieth-century Hungarian painting, living and creating in Zebegény from 1924 until his death. His art culminated here, and his painting was inspired by the landscape of magical beauty, the people who lived in the village. In his works, he elevated everyday life to poetry. Its former residence and studio have been a memorial museum since 1967. The permanent exhibition features significant paintings from each of the master's creative periods, masterpieces such as The Garden Bench, On the Waterfront, Morning, Evening in Zebegény, or The Village in Autumn. The most beautiful pieces of his graphic oeuvre, consisting of thousands of pieces, can be viewed in temporary exhibitions. Visitors can get to know the works of his students and colleagues in the framework of a series of exhibitions.
Museum of Shipping History
The founder of the museum is vince Farkas, a ship captain, who, after decades of collecting and self-made objects, created the exhibition, which opened on July 12, 1984 in Zebegény (his own house).
Vince Farkas loved sailing to the point of infatuation and tried to return from all his trips with souvenirs and curiosities that he could get at the places and stations (even on other continents) he visited.
In addition to the many unique objects that are not or only difficult to obtain in Hungary, he tried to create more. Thanks to his great dexterity, ship models and more have been added to the museum's library.
Károly Kós Lookout Tower
The wooden lookout tower at the top of Calvary Hill is a welcome place for hikers, young and old alike. It is easily accessible from the centre of the village and offers a magnificent view of the Danube Bend. Its peculiarity is that from the front it resembles a Roman watchtower. Not by chance, as the route of the Roman limes, which stretches for 500 km along the Danube, led to this. The lower part of the lookout tower forms a Székely gate, and when viewed from the side, the structure resembles a church.
Country Flag and Trianon Monument
At the beginning of 2015, the new lookout tower was built on Calvary Hill, and at the same time the old Trianon Monument was renovated.
At the bottom of Calvary Hill along the serpentine is the Rock Chapel, in which, according to legend, a hermit once lived. His work is a beautiful stone bas-relief on the right side of the cave, depicting the coronation of the Virgin Mary and the Trinity. After the death of the hermit, the cave was expanded and transformed into a temple. In the late 1770s, the cave was used as a sanctuary for a church that was already standing. Decades after the demolition of the Old Church, in 1938 László Jékey and Magda Bartóky had the ornate, coat of arms façade with the wrought iron gate built, which is still visible today, based on the plans of Antal Hendrich. Next to the chapel, recessed into the place, is the tomb of the hermit. A litany is held here on August 5, the day of farewell. And at Advent, visitors can admire a life-size nativity scene in the chapel.
On the former main road of the village, the Sunflower Houses overlooking the Danube appear, in which gr. Lászlóné Károlyi sz.gr. Franciska Apponyi's children's paradise operated. The countess's name is associated with the blue-painted "Flower Holidays" on the banks of the Danube, which she arranged in a Hungarian folk art style. A well-kept garden and a nicely built beach awaited the holidaymakers. It was on his initiative that the Flower Society Zebegény (VEZ) was formed and raised children to love nature, who bore the names of flowers, trees, shrubs and birds. The houses are now under street view and local protection. They are characterized by the gentian blue color, which over time has already been repainted on some houses.
Neoclassical style, seven-span, 75-meter-long vaulted railway bridge. Its main features are semicircular brick vaults and stone elements resting on pillars and bridgeheads. Originally, only 1 track operated, which was widened to the mountain before the Millennium.
06 27 571 510